Doctor Who: Journey's End
Jul. 5th, 2008 10:05 pmThe Awesome
1. The reunion of old characters. I loved the Jack/Mickey hug. Can't wait to see them working together. :d Jackie/Jack was nice too.
2. The meeting of new characters. Who's up for shipping Donna/Jack? I loved the 'ma'am' thing from Jack on meeting Sarah Jane. And how impressed Rose was with Martha, and how happy Martha was that the Doctor got to see Rose again, and their hug! Oh, love. Internet, provide me with Martha/Rose femmeslash now plz. As awesome as the Facebook thing last time, even if it came without Jack giving The Look to a fourteen-year-old! Wait two years, Mr Oversexed Alien Man, you can leer at his mother all you like.
3. The fact that I was actually scared for a lot of it. Bravo! RTD, my previous pronouncements that you Are Not Allowed To Use The Daleks In Series Finales may have been premature. However, you definitely can't do it again now. The Daleks saying EXTERMINATE in German was great!
4. The happiness when they won. The hugging all over the TARDIS! Everyone steering together! The music and Wilf cheering and the fireworks!
5. Rose/Doctor. Personally I will always prefer their original 'great mates' vibe to the One Love For All Time thing. That doesn't mean the kiss didn't fill me with glee.
4. The acknowledgment of Harriet Jones. She did her best, she was a hero, and the Doctor's abashed look and the fact that no one tried to make her anything less than she was makes me happy.
5. Jack's reaction to the three Doctors. "Three Doctors?" "I can't even tell you what I'm thinking now." OH YES. Hilarity.
6. Mickey and Martha are going to Torchwood!! I'm so pleased about Martha - I know it was likely but I was afeared it wouldn't happen. It did! And it was because UNIT's so morally iffy. And I've come back round to Mickey. He's still not Tosh's match computer-wise but I've been reminded to why he's great. And I desperately want to see his interactions with Jack, Ianto, Jack-and-Ianto, and hopefully John. I can has evil!snark about picking up moar eye-candy nao?
7. They were all so brave! So brave, and so clever, and so willing to die for the cause. Of course, they were also willing to kill for the cause.
8. The Doctor getting called on his shit by Davros.
9. The Daleks getting mocked! AHAHA bumper-cars!Daleks! *dies* Hilarious, and brilliant, and OMG how brilliant is DoctorDonna?!
The Iffy
1. Rose/Doctor. I still find the making this ship completely canon very questionable. Much of my problem with any Time Lord/human relationship remains and I hated that the fact that the Doctor doesn't age was treated as if it were the only obstacle. And frankly, I feel Rose was fobbed off. She isn't getting the Doctor, she's getting a dodgy copy and losing the Doctor who was 'him' was horrifying to her - the reaction to his regeneration showed that.
2. Martha. She was extremely cool, as ever, and I liked that she got to be alone doing her thing again - because that's what Martha does. When the Doctor is helpless and she's without friends, she does her job.
I guess I just wanted more of her, and for her not to be so weepy. But I guess the Asta-Haagan key gave her reason to be weepy, so... Yeah, she was still Awesome.
The Screaming Dreadfulness
1. DONNA. Fucking hell! I hate, hate, hate and despise this. It upsets me for the character. I hate it when characters are retconned after an adventure - it's creepy and it's horrible, and it does so much to negate what they did. Donna saved the universe and she'll be remembered, and I love that. But travelling with the Doctor changed her, Wilf said so himself, and I can't bear that she lost all of that. She was screaming when he did it, begging him not to! How horrible was that?
And you know what, even if she was the DoctorDonna (which was awesome, btw) there is absolutely no fucking reason for her to be mindwiped. There was no adequate explanation. Her eyes looked like Rose's did when she saw the heart of the TARDIS, she was less powerful even than Rose was. Why couldn't the power have been taken back?
I'm also deeply suspicious of the fact that this companion - this beautiful, clever, amazing compassionate woman who I loved more than Jack, Martha or Rose - is the only one who can't come back. She's older than they were, and she has a resolutely friend relationship with the Doctor ('you're naked'. Hee!) Those things are a big part of why I love her but I can't help wondering if it's part of why she can't return.
*cries*
no subject
Date: 2008-07-10 05:49 am (UTC)Not at all! I'm just amused I came up on Google. And your icon is awesome, btw. Sorry it's taken such years for me to respond!
I completely agree that it's unfair. It's like... what the hell was the point? We saw her evolve and it's all just been whipped away. And I loved the Doctor/Donna relationship too. *pouts* I just want it to go on.
no subject
Date: 2008-07-10 08:59 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-07-06 09:55 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2008-07-10 05:52 am (UTC)Exactly! There was no plot reason for him to be unable to - he did it for Rose, didn't he? Why was this different?
why was the grandfather and mom so ok about it, it doesn't make any sense
Yeah. I mean Wilf wasn't happy about it, but... He should have been far angrier. His granddaughter had a part of herself ripped away! And he just accepted it. Bad writing on RTD's part, just so he could have a sniffly parting between the Doctor and a human.
no subject
Date: 2008-07-23 10:37 pm (UTC)What happened to Donna was completely and totally unfair, so I agree with you there. She was just amazing--so brilliant and wonderful and so good for the Doctor and did not deserve what happened. I consider what the Doctor did to her mindrape and I'm not sure if I can forgive it. But the prophecy was right, a companion died, because the Donna that was the Doctor's companion is dead now. Furthermore, Clone Ten is also half-human half-Time Lord, and he's apparently able to handle it which makes me even more leery of the whole thing--why is it okay for him and not her?
I thought Ten was a massive fucking hypocrite when he said Clone Ten was "dangerous" and Rose made him better and could do the same for the clone because, well, Family of Blood, the Runaway Bride, probably a few more examples I can't think of off the top of my head where the Doctor was incredibly ruthless and cruel post-Rose. Even when Rose was still with him there were times he was the kind one, and he was always torn about having to sacrifice anyone or let people die; his definition of "person" just happened to stretch farther than Rose's.
But yeah, overall this post is made of win and you're totally spot-on with everything.